How I became a writer and love it!

How I became a writer and love it!.

When I was five I use to make up stories in my head.  I didn’t think anything of it, I mean I was only five what did I know about career choices at that age?  At twelve I wrote my first short story I entered it in a contest,but didn’t win. In high school I submitted a short story to the school news paper and saw my name in print for the first time.  Later on,  I wrote a book all by hand. Who knew it had to be type written to submit I wish I still had that book. Never throw away anything you’ve written. You never know, one day you’ll want to go back and work on that very story.

Then came the computer age, I brought a computer and took a couple of writing courses. Unfortunately, those course are no longer available. There are other courses,but not as affordable as those courses I took.  Don’t give up,I didn’t.

It’s hard work i don’t deny it,but its well worth it when you finally hold your published book in your hand. As I did.

In the mean time, I hope this prayer will help you.

Open my mind, Lord. Grant me the talent to write with clarity and style, so my words go down rich and smooth, like fine wine, and leave my reader thirsty for more.

Open my heart, Lord. Grant me the sensitivity to understand my characters–their hopes, their wants, their dreams–and help me to confer that empathy to my reader.

Open my soul, Lord, so I may be a channel to wisdom and creativity from beyond my Self. Stoke my imagination with vivid imagery and vibrant perception.

But most of all, Lord, help me to know the Truth, so my fiction is more honest than actuality and reaches the depths of my reader’s soul.

Wrap these gifts with opportunity, perseverance, and the strength to resist those who insist it can’t be done.

Amen.

Sandy Tritt Copyright

© 1999

Occasionally, some of your visitors may see an advertisement here.

One thought on “How I became a writer and love it!

  1. Dear June,
    What a great blog post to begin your blog! I’m so proud of you. I threw away a story I wish I still had when I was in high school. But alas, it is not retrievable. Good luck to you with your writing! Thanks for sharing the prayer.

    Celebrate you
    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

Leave a Reply

